I shot over to MySpace to check out my account and was presented with a pop-up asking if I watned to run a file called imagecomposite.aspx (screenshot). I have no idea if it’s a legit file or not, but a malicious .asp/.aspx file can hose your system good if you’re running Windows.
Surf MySpace at your own risk.



on Feb 21st, 2007 at 10:48 pm
I got the same message today around 5pm PST while I was trying to log onto myspace.com.
on Feb 21st, 2007 at 10:50 pm
the same thing happened to me, and i dont know how to get rid of it, it happens everytime i open myspace.
on Feb 22nd, 2007 at 1:30 am
ME too. How do we get rid of this. Do NOT run this. I click on a friend request and got a weird page to download some viewer. I did not, however I do have this imagecomposte.aspx problem.
on Feb 22nd, 2007 at 1:37 am
i have just incurred the same situation. i wrote an email to myspace customer service about the imagecomposite.aspx thing just a few mins ago. we’ll see if they respond. anyways i have no idea how to fix it. it only happens to me when i use the firefox browser though, not when i use internet explorer. i didnt try netscape though.
i decided to be brave and stupid at the same time and instead of saving the file to my computer i decided to just open it. it opened in my text/notepad program. it was completely blank, no text or anything. so i have no idea the heck is going on.
i mean i dont even really know what an aspx file would be logically used for in the first place.
i have messed around with so many of my internet settings to try and fix the problem, i have scanned my comp countless times now and it doesnt seem to be solving the problem. anyways glad im not the only one, cuz this shit sux. but it is unfortunate that you caught it too.
on Feb 22nd, 2007 at 1:46 am
just searched on google with the words “myspace” and “imagecomposite.aspx” you were the only result that came up. is this a new problem? luckily i’m on an imac and don’t really feel threatened by shit like this. it does bug me that it shows up every time i go there.
on Feb 22nd, 2007 at 2:28 am
Yep, happened to me all day today, but only when I am using the Opera browswer (my preferred choice). For some reason, it’s not happening when I use IE7 or FireFox 2
on Feb 22nd, 2007 at 5:43 am
I just got this as well. Clicked “Cancel” straightaway.
No idea what it is but sounds more than a little dodgy.
on Feb 22nd, 2007 at 5:55 am
the same thinks happened to me..
But i think there’s a malwere..
I use osx and it’s a strange think..
on Feb 22nd, 2007 at 6:48 am
I’m running Firefox on Linux at home so I’m unaffected as well. But .aspx is a Microsoft format so Internet Explorer may just run it blindly; you wouldn’t see the message.
I downloaded it this morning and it appears to be an empty file. As such, it’s hard to say if it was just bad coding on MySpace’s part or a failed hack attempt where someone injected a file but screwed up their own code. Either is possible, but better safe than sorry given MySpace has been hacked before.
Mike
on Feb 22nd, 2007 at 7:30 am
I’ve had the same problem for a day now. Must be new. I’m using a Safari browser on an ibook G4. However, I don’t get this message when I open myspace with Firefox. Strange..
Thomas
on Feb 22nd, 2007 at 11:13 am
I used Safari and Firefox, depending on what i am trying to do. I noticed, since i have cancelled these download (which always happens during the login), i can’t access my home page, see blogs or send messages. The only thing i can do is post in forums. I won’t allow this to download until i know what it is - so i may not have access to my account until this is answered. *sigh*
I’ve NEVER seen this download until a few days ago. At least i’m not the only one having this problem.
Hopefully myspace will answer the inquiry about this. It’s frustrating.
on Feb 22nd, 2007 at 11:47 am
Can someone email me a copy of imagecomposite.aspx - I want to take a look at the file to see what it does.
Cheers
on Feb 22nd, 2007 at 12:50 pm
yeah I thought it was my broswer (camino) but it looks like myspace bugs … on another note I just got a weird download from appleinsider.com called Ads.jsp which is odd.. I hadn’t ever gotten strange stuff like this before and now 2 different sites offered me 2 weird downloads in one day. something odd going on today…